Andrew S. Tanenbaum

Andrew S. Tanenbaum has an S.B.from M.I.T. and a Ph.D. from the University of California at Berkeley. He is currently a Professor Emeritus of Computer Science at the Vrije Universiteit in Amsterdam. Prof. Tanenbaum is the principal designer of three operating systems:

TSS-11, Amoeba, and MINIX.

In addition, Tanenbaum is the author or coauthor of five books, which together have been translated in more than 20 languages. All in all, there are over 175 editions, as shown on

In 2004, Tanenbaum became an Academy Professor, which carried with it a 5-year grant totalling 2 million euro to do research on reliable operating systems. His university matched this amount. In 2008, he received a European Research Council grant of 2.5 million euro to continue this research.

Tanenbaum is a Fellow of the ACM, a Fellow of the IEEE, and a member of the Netherlands Royal Academy of Arts and Sciences. In 1994 he was the recipient of the ACM Karl V. Karlstrom Outstanding Educator Award. In 1997 he won the ACM SIGCSE Award for Outstanding Contributions to Computer Science. In 2007 he won the IEEE James H. Mulligan, Jr., Education Medal.

His home page is at

Related Sessions

View full schedule